So Sunday will be my seventh week on this weight loss journey and I have been putting in work. Major work. I didn’t even know the name of the work I was putting in until someone on my IG began talking about HIIT training. I didn’t know the way I was eating was bulking the HIIT way, thank God that is over. Finding pants to wear has been frustrating. Thank goodness this is the legging era. Discouragement would not settle in because I was willing to trust the process as one good girlfriend is quick to remind me to do.

So of course the scholar in me must google. Research. Does the mind good.

I have had people ask me, what do you do if you don’t watch television. Well I was off facebook for over a year it definitely wasn’t networking. This single life has been interesting. So no there is no person to take my attention off me and my goals right now, but …yeah (big smile)…

Who wants that perfect love story anyway? Break down shaky foundations so God can re create what He is more than able to make.

I believe God!! Thank you Lord!

I guess the model has been to become the me I have always wondered who she really is. I guess it was about becoming my best self. I am so far away from where I want to be, but so much closer to it than had I not done anything and sat down on my behind focusing on someone else.

Thankful to be this INFP. I guess being in my own world is sometimes a good thing.

Focused.

So research. Key word. Figure out what is the best for me in reaching my goals. Others came before trying to help me get there, but God had to move them out the way so he would get the glory out of my life and situation. Nobody did this but God.

Week seven coming up and I have not been in anyone’s gym. I have had no workout buddies consistently. I have had to get rid of my overeating. Love Love Love for junkfood. I have almost been in complete isolation. No outings with friends, besides the awesome week of my birthday. (big big smile)

I have been trying my best to pay attention and listen. Knowing obedience is better than sacrifice. I have not been on a herbalife routine. I try I forget to take pills. That was a mess, so I researched my own and did my own Herb Life. I have yet to do a wrap and when I tried to waist train I got an open sore in my back. Yes. I asked God to help me, and He has been my one constant. Giving me the strength to put in this work. Giving me the motivation to keep going.

Its like that private time I spend with Him on that track I ask can I make it a little further, just a little further, and I feel the strength that only He can give me propelling me along.

I put in thirty three miles this week. One for every year of my life and I am feeling pretty great. I have another program I am doing as well. So I did that too. Its been a fun time.

I talk to people while I am out and about. Smile and speak. Learning to love my neighbor as myself. I see someone’s struggle and never once do I think twice about offering them a smile and some words to keep them focused on the goal. I mean there is so much negativity in the world. Isn’t it nice to hear someone say something positive and uplifting? I mean even if no words are said a calming soothing smile is sometimes more than one can ask for?

So I dedicate to my commitment to self and my goals. I am now determined to keep the negative experiences of my past behind until it is time to bring them out and in the open. Lets focus on making it. Lets focus on success and becoming the best people we can be!

So I look up HIIT. I have been doing this all along. Its like when God gave me the plans to do it was exactly as the site described HIIT. Now I know what my exercise routine was for. Major fatloss. Major loss of belly fat. Thigh work is more difficult. But the running and walking is helping in a major way.

I hope this is helpful to someone.

Found at http://www.bodybuilding.com

High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) has become a popular way to burn more fat. It’s a training method that has been effective for many people.

FIRST PLACE TUNIT

HIGH INTENSITY INTERVAL TRAINING

High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) has become a popular way to burn more fat. It’s a training method that has been effective for many people.

WHAT IS HIIT?

HIIT is a training idea in which low to moderate intensity intervals are alternated with high intensity intervals.

HIIT can be applied to running or to exercises such as squatting. HIIT is considered to be much more effective than normal cardio because the intensity is higher and you are able to increase both your aerobic and anaerobic endurance while burning more fat than ever before.

“In research, HIIT has been shown to burn adipose tissue more effectively than low-intensity exercise – up to 50% more efficiently.” It has also been shown to speed up your metabolism which helps you burn more calories throughout the day. (www.musclemedia.com)

HIIT improves both energy systems for endurance:

ANAEROBIC ENERGY SYSTEM

Anaerobic literally means “Without oxygen.” The anaerobic energy system is what provides energy in all out efforts of up to 1 minute. For the first 10-15 seconds, the phosphate pool is used up and after that, glycolysis and lactic acid are involved in the effort.

During 10-15 second bursts, there is a very small amount of lactic acid produced. Rest periods of 30 seconds to a minute will provide complete recovery of the Adenosine Triphosphate-Creatine Phosphate (ATP-CP) system. During efforts of more than 10-15 seconds, a large amount of lactic acid is produced and such efforts are extremely taxing on both the athlete’s muscles and their Central Nervous System (CNS).

AEROBIC ENERGY SYSTEM

Aerobic literally means “with oxygen.” This energy system is utilized during prolonged exercise over a period of at least 3-4 minutes. As long as there is enough oxygen to provide energy, the fatigue that you experience will remain at a low level.

This is the reason why many track and field athletes train at higher altitudes where there is less oxygen. By training at high altitudes, they can increase the number of red blood cells which will help them to perform for a longer period of time with little to no fatigue throughout.

WHAT IS THE BEST HIIT WORKOUT? BE SPECIFIC AND MAKE SURE TO LIST EXERCISES, REPS, SETS, ETC.

HIIT can be used with a few different goals in mind – to lose as much fat as possible while cutting or bulking, or to improve aerobic and anaerobic endurance as much as possible. Diet will mostly determine how these goals are achieved by manipulating calories and macronutrient ratios.

HIIT during a Cutting Phase:

  • 500 Calories under maintenance daily
  • High Protein (40% of total calories)
  • Low Carbs (20% of total calories)
  • High Fat (40% of total calories)

It has been proven in studies that during a low carbohydrate and high fat diet, the oxidation of fat is increased during exercise, especially cardio such as HIIT (more fat is burned). Additionally, fat is a much more highly concentrated source of energy than carbohydrates.

“A review by Hultman (1995) found that during a diet where carbs are restricted and a lot of fat is consumed, up to 70% of the energy requirement (even during high intensity activities) comes from the oxidation of fat (where during a high carbs diet, such activities would derive 80-90% of the energy from glycogen).” (Thibaudeau)

Sample: 2000 Calories Daily

  • 200 Grams of Protein
  • 100 Grams of Carbs
  • 90 Grams of Fat

Staple Supplements:

HIIT during a Bulking Phase:

  • 500-1000 Calories over maintenance daily
  • High Protein (30-35% of total calories)
  • High Carbs (45-50% of total calories)
  • Low-Medium Fat (15-25% of total calories)

Sample: 4000 Calories Daily

  • 300-350 Grams of Protein
  • 450-500 Grams of Carbs
  • 70-110 Grams of Fats

Staple Supplements:

HIIT to improve aerobic and anaerobic endurance, maintain bodyweight:

  • Maintenance Calories daily
  • High Protein (35% of total calories)
  • Medium Carbs (40% of total calories)
  • Medium Fat (25% of total calories)

Sample: 2500 Calories Daily

  • 215-220 Grams of Protein
  • 250-275 Grams of Carbs
  • 70 Grams of Fat

Staple Supplements:

  • Whey Protein [Suggested: Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey] (Post Workout and Post-HIIT)
  • BCAA + Glutamine [Suggested: SciVation Xtend] (Pre- and Post Workout/HIIT)

Pre-Workout: 30 Minutes Before
Post Workout: 30-45 Minutes After, Creatine immediately after workout

For all three of the aforementioned options, high water intake (1.0 – 1.5 gallons daily) should be prioritized. Also, you should get at least 8 hrs of sleep daily to help you recover well from the weight training and HIIT.

HIIT WORKOUT – CUTTING PHASE

ARM CIRCLES

General Warm-up/Flexibility Routine

  • Touch Toes – 15 Reps (Touch toes quickly, come right back up and repeat)
  • Lunges – 10 reps/leg
  • Side Lunges – 10 reps each direction
  • Butt Kicks – 25 yards
  • High Knees – 25 yards
  • Arm Circles – 20 reps
  • Trunk Twists – 20 reps
  • Side Bends – 20 reps

WEEKS 1-2

  • Monday – AM Full Body Weight Training
  • Tuesday – PM HIIT Workout
    30 Seconds Brisk Walk, 30 Seconds Sprint, Repeat 7 More Times (8 Minutes Total)
  • Wednesday – AM Full Body Weight Training
  • Thursday – PM HIIT Workout
    30 Seconds Brisk Walk, 30 Seconds Sprint, Repeat 7 More Times (8 Minutes Total)
  • Friday – AM Full Body Weight Training
  • Saturday and Sunday – Rest

HIIT WORKOUT – BULKING PHASE

General Warm-Up/Flexibility Routine (Before every weight training and HIIT session):

  • Touch Toes – 15 reps (Touch toes quickly, come right back up and repeat)
  • Lunges – 10 reps/leg
  • Side Lunges – 10 reps each direction
  • Butt Kicks – 25 yards
  • High Knees – 25 yards
  • Arm Circles – 20 reps
  • Trunk Twists – 20 reps
  • Side Bends – 20 reps

WEEKS 1-2

  • Monday – AM Upper Body Weight Training
  • Tuesday – AM Lower Body Weight Training
  • Wednesday – PM HIIT Workout
    30 Seconds Jog, 30 Seconds Sprint, Repeat 4 More Times (5 Minutes Total)
  • Thursday – AM Upper Body Weight Training
  • Friday – AM Lower Body Weight Training
  • Saturday and Sunday – Rest

Leave a Reply

