So I’ve been spending the last year being my own research project.

I have been through enouugh experiences in my life to make one bitter, angry and reseentful for the rest of my life but I choose life. A happy life at that!

Yes. I have a relationship with God. I have accepted his Son Jesus as my Lord and Savior and my life has changed drastically.

I understand now Faith without works is dead in a whole new light.

So about my mental health. Three years ago I was unhealthy, depressed, committing social suicide in my interpersonal life and neglecting my daughter chasing men to feel a feeling of fulfillment.

Ok. I never neglected my daughter, but I did pay attention to men who i knew was not going anywhere in my life. Anytime spent with someone that can’t help my future is taking away from my present. 

Anyway, I answer the call. it wasnt so much a call as ring ring. But I was working three jobs couldnt make ends meet and wondering why I was living life like this when I knew God. I was always reading his word. No I would never believe Jesus was a prophet, and not the Son of God. Even though I had been bamboozled into believing he was an angel named Michael.

I was perishing for a lack of knowledge.

Anyway, after my descent into desperation and despair I felt the urge to go. to change my eating habits, and begin to get my 260 something pound frame into some better health. I made excuses since i got all the way up to 300 pounds in my pregnancy, but i needed to make a change.

So I did. I changed my eating habits. Fluctuated, but have been consistent in keeping off a total of 85 pounds since having my daughter.

So I’m checking out why my mood has changed since changing my eating habits and I find an article online.

  • High-fructose diets also feed pathogens in your gut, allowing them to overtake beneficial bacteria. Furthermore, sugar suppresses activity of a key growth hormone in your brain called brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF). BDNF levels are critically low in both depression and schizophrenia.
  • Sugar consumption also triggers a cascade of chemical reactions in your body that promote chronic inflammation. In the long term, inflammation disrupts the normal functioning of your immune system and wreaks havoc on your brain. 

    Last but not least, sugar (particularly fructose) and grains contribute to insulin and leptin resistance and impaired signaling, which also play a significant role in your mental health.

  • Artificial food ingredients, the artificial sweetener aspartame in particular, can wreak havoc with your brain function. Both depression and panic attacks are known potential side effects of aspartame consumption. Other additives, such as artificial colorings, are also known to impact mood.

 http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2014/01/02/food-affects-mood.aspx 

Almost everything we consume has sugar in it. And so many artificial ingredients. Our body was never designed to break down fake stuff. So now the body is storing all the toxic waste in fat cells and keeping people from being able to make the hormones necessary to produce good mental health. Like seratonin that keeps depreession at bay. And the inability to produce a good healthy stable mood and mindset keeps people with fake smiles plastered on their faces, and negative words and thoughts floating around their same mindset circle.

So here is my call to health. I see a hurting people in black people and we have some of the worst diets. Even the slimmest person does little exercise and still eats a lot of processed junk food, and we wonder why we dont have the strength and discipline to press forward towards greatness. Many successful people are mostly slim people, who care enough about themselves to eat healthy and disciplined enough to work hard to keep their bodies in the best shape theirr body is able to be in.

Reduce the waste and increase the ability to see past it and find treasure after the trash.

My sister in Christ gave me a scripture early this week, Ephesian 4:1b, 2 of the message bible, “I want you to get out there and walk—better yet, run!—on the road God called you to travel. I don’t want any of you sitting around on your hands. I don’t want anyone strolling off, down some path that goes nowhere.”

I find the more I purge myself of the waste of the old behaviorrs that once consumed my life, smoking, drinking, overeating processed junk food, awful relationships whih produced its own set of trauma, which scientists say trauma gets coded into hormones for the brain to recognize and then gets stored as toxic waste into my fat cells. So the more I purge, and let go the lighter i feel the happier I become. I walk in freedom.

Yes now. I live a life eating plants. I am a vegan now and I eat foods derived from plants and my smilie is so bright that as passengers board and alight my bus they smile. They wave from the other side of the street. White, black, latino, asian, indian. Joy transcends all color lines.

so yes, the old adage you are what you eat. SO lets get some discipline to change our habits and become all God created us to be.

Proverbs 15:32 Those who disregard discipline despise themselves, 

but the one who heeds correction gains understanding. 

Happy eating! To the health of my people!!

Leave a Reply

