The whole world has practically gone mad about Bruce Jenner. He has made quite a buzz in the world because people cant believe the audacity of it all.

But there is nothing new under the sun.

For years one of the biggest issues in the black community has been undercover and downlow brothers. 

I mean when Janet Jackson played her role in For Colored Girls, I am sure her character would have never suspected her man of being a man who liked to enjoy other men. But he did and gave her an incurable disease.

Beardgang.

  
Beard is a slang term describing a person who is used, knowingly or unknowingly, as a date, romantic partner (boyfriend or girlfriend), or spouse either to conceal infidelity or to conceal one’s sexual orientation. The American slang term originally referred to anyone who acted on behalf of another, in any transaction, to conceal a person’s true identity.[1] The term can be used in heterosexual and homosexual contexts, but is especially used within LGBT culture.[2] References to beards are seen in mainstream television and films, and other entertainment. (wikipedia)

So. I’m talking to a woman. She is telling me of the divorce she is thinking of pursuing for the same reason. What? Why are so many men choosing to live a down low lifestyle and taking the hearts of women down with them?

So. I once dated a guy. Something in me made me question him. Let me stop. That nagging feeling i get everytime I feel that God is trying to tell me something hit me, so when I listened and decided to play ispy, tracking his computer whereabouts, the sites he was visiting and checking the search of his phone had him looking for things that a straight man definitely wouldnt have a desire to see.

I was, unbeknownst to me, a beard.

He was using me, my femininity and beauty, to hide the fact that he preferred the other sex. Maybe in addition to or instead of. Only God knows his heart. Or maybe he was just curious. But why he would be looking up body parts that he already had in his own possession was beyond my level of comprehension.

Its almost like a man who loves brown skinned women but has been conditioned by society to believe that a woman with fairer skin is better than the others. So in his constant love of self and hatred of self he chooses brown skinned women to love on, but keeps the fairer skinned woman in his possession with a title. Never quite   fulfilled in the relationship but not knowing how to be real enough with self to pursue what he really wants.

Beards come in all shapes, shades, sizes, and shadows.

Anyway. I digress.

So of course. I confront. He denies. He then turns his hatred to me because I know his secret and begins to depict me in a certain light.

Such is life. Most men do not have a hard time creating a stable environment with a woman unless that is not their cup of tea.

So. Ladies. Don’t just accept a man at face value. There is nothing wrong with doing a little research. There is nothing wrong with asking questions, and if you choose not to live a life kept by God then by all means insist on testing. They might be able to cure babies that are born so they believe with HIV but they dont have a cure for the rest of the population as of yet. Just some good drugs that allow people to live longer. But why catch what can be avoided?

I choose abstinence. I’ve made too many wrong decisions. I choose to live a life pleasing to God, because no matter what a person looks like on the outside you cant number their partners by a look and you definitely don’t know whats going on inside their body for the sake of their medical history.

There are too many people that choose not to be honest with their own selves, so they definitely wont be honest with you. And many people are afraid of finding out their status. 

Yes. A beard is a cover up. 

I used to rock with the beardgang a little bit. Now I am just wondering what that beard is really covering up!

Leave a Reply

